April 17, 2012: Today. CWE 201

Today 2- edited

Today you had surgery
To remove a black mark
Floating across a gray and white film.

We sat on the floor in a circle
Around you, pulling take out sandwiches
Into pieces. Today was the first really warm
Day of spring. Uncharacteristically warm
For April. The doctor said the mark on your film
Is uncharacteristic. Today is a warm day,
A yellow day under the sun’s round belly.

Your incision is cross stitched in black
Along your skin. I cannot change
The dressing. My blood will curdle
Like cottage cheese. A fan loops in
Circles above us. Today we ate
Chocolate with sea salt.

I have had nothing so sweet
between my teeth as this chocolate
And this circle we have made around you. I am
Holding the circle in my white mouth.
I am a shaggy girl, biting down
On a wolf between my teeth. Today is the day
That won’t be the day that you begin to leave us.
That day will be another day, not today.

Today 1

Bobbi is the name for a local sandwich.
Real turkey, stuffing, and cranberries
On a roll. Today, you had surgery
To remove a mark floating
On a screen. Grays and whites on
Shiny film. Can’t the doctor just
Scratch the mark from the film
With his fingernail? A losing
Scratch off.

Today we sat in a circle around you
And ate bobbis, pulling sandwiches
Into pieces. Today was the first really warm
Day of spring. Uncharacteristically warm,
As they say. I am afraid I will need to help
You change the dressings.
The mark on your film is uncharacteristic,
Said the doctor. Today is a warm day,
A yellow day under the round belly of a heavy sun.

I cannot change the dressings. My blood will
Curdle like cottage cheese, and then I will
Move like sand and be unable to dance
Or pour soda over ice. Your incision
Is cross stitched in black. I am shuddering.
I will change the goddamned
Dressings if I have to. There is a cross
Stitched picture of Ireland hanging
In the hallway, outside the circle
That we have made around you on the floor.
Bobbis wrapped in soft butcher paper
Rest alongside our hips. The fan
Above us loops. Today is the day that won’t
Be the day that you begin to leave us. That day is not today.
That day will be another day, a day when we have, say,
Cheesesteaks or Chinese chicken salads. We ordered the
Bobbis on purpose today. We will fly
over the sea on a big plane to Ireland together.

We had chocolate with sea salt today. I have had nothing
As sweet between my teeth as this chocolate and
This circle we have made around you. The circle of us
Is between my teeth and I am guarding it.
I am a shaggy girl, white at the mouth,
Holding a wolf between my teeth.
We break off pieces of chocolate
And pass them around, like we are breakin bread
With Jesus, but Jesus died on a day that was much cooler
Than this uncharacteristically warm day. No one will die
Today.

Leave a Reply

